Using colors for station training

I’ve been working on a project but haven’t spoken much about it. Since my move with my 7 horses I’ve been presented with a training opportunity, working up close and personal with resource guarding.

In my other setup, it evolved into a situation where no more than two were interacting while I was in with them. Now I have situations where there are as many as 5 at once.

Since they all see me as a valuable resource, I am fully aware of the potential dangers, even from the minis. Trust me, they can remove a knee cap in an instant; they move faster than full sized horses and they require as much diligence as any full sized horse. They are NOT just big dogs LOL.

So I’ve had some fun trying out a wide variety of techniques, including management, and I’m getting some interesting results.

Handsome2.

My LATEST project involves having each horse learn to target a specific color. Then I’m going to use those colored targets as stations for them to go to when I enter the big paddock.

Gotta tell you, the project is so very fun. I’m looking forward to sharing some of the adventure with you.
About clickertraininghorses - Peggy Hogan

I teach people and train horses using positive reinforcement. The horses I work with are given choice, the freedom to volunteer behavior. The joy is that they strive to volunteer what works for both of us.
This entry was posted in clicker training horses, Training blogs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

