Teaching McKee to “Match to Sample” – The beginning

I’ve been trying to figure out the best way to start training “match to sample” with McKee. I have an overall basic outline but I’m not quite sure of how I want to approach some of the logistics.

To start I want to have McKee standing in front of me about 3 feet away. He needs to be able to stand while I present an item, then go touch the matching item and then come back to our starting stance, lined up in front of me.

I’ve decided to use a small board, on which he can place his front feet, which will serve as a spot marker; he can leave me to go touch or pick up an item and then return to this board.

Another reason I choose to use a wooden board is because McKee has been taught to go find a scented mat and paw twice.  I really don’t want to mess up  that behavior so I’m choosing to use a surface which is distinctly different.

McKee already has a strong auto-stationing behavior, so this part is pretty easy for him, but I want to give the board a specific cue for this behavior. To that end, tonight I started to use the verbal cue “Step up” as he went to station on the board.

I asked him to do several other behaviors and then cued him to go “step up” on the board. I think this part of the training should go pretty quickly, but since it’s such foundation behavior for the trick, I don’t want to gloss over this phase either.

More to come…

About clickertraininghorses - Peggy Hogan

I teach people and train horses using positive reinforcement. The horses I work with are given choice, the freedom to volunteer behavior. The joy is that they strive to volunteer what works for both of us.
This entry was posted in clicker training horses, Training blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

