Update on Moonshadow – the neophobic filly

1/26 Thursday –

We took 3 very short walks today. Two of the didn’t even go past the end of the driveway. I watched her very carefully, took lots of breaks, stopped, massaged her neck and also delivered treats without the click (think classical conditioning – Pavlov). I think the biggest challenge for her is loud noises (trucks and cars). The noise seems to be the biggest trigger.

I’m not much of a fan of introducing a scary thing into the horse’s environment and then trying to click to make it feel better, so I need to set up a situation where she can explore making the loud noises herself. I’ve done this with Handsome (I used pots and pans that he knocked over himself to earn the C/T). I’ll see how that goes.

About clickertraininghorses - Peggy Hogan

I teach people and train horses using positive reinforcement. The horses I work with are given choice, the freedom to volunteer behavior. The joy is that they strive to volunteer what works for both of us.
This entry was posted in Training blogs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

