What seems natural?

It seems to me the most “natural” thing in the world is an animal who tries to manipulate its environment to get what it wants. After all, it’s how they survive. That same animal will also look for ways to avoid what it doesn’t want. The former activates a mindset of creativity based on seeking a good thing; the latter activates a mindset based on retreat from something undesirable.
So as a trainer, I think it is a worthy goal to make my horse think I am totally fascinating because I keep finding ways for him to get what he wants. The challenge on my part is to set it up so he guesses what I want. THAT is where the click comes in, it adds precision and helps the horse guess more quickly. I like that and I know the horses like that!

About clickertraininghorses - Peggy Hogan

I teach people and train horses using positive reinforcement. The horses I work with are given choice, the freedom to volunteer behavior. The joy is that they strive to volunteer what works for both of us.
Aside | This entry was posted in clicker training horses and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

